Baking for a Crowd

Though Tim and I keep lamenting our lack of a couch – it’s not due to arrive for another 1-2 weeks and we have to sit on the floor if we want to watch TV – it means that I may be able to get all my GBBO bake-alongs on the blog before we get our Netflix description and dive into the ’23 season. I still don’t know who won, and let’s keep it that way!

noceur (n): one who sleeps late or not at all; or one who stays out late to revel or party 

Dessert Week was a real treat, but I was excited about Week Eight’s theme. It meant I’d get to throw a savory bake into the mix!

Week 8: Party Week

After driving across the country in a 16-foot truck, Tim and I were both ready for a bit of a party. However, our apartment was in various states of disarray (we were waiting on carpet replacement & bookshelves), and we didn’t feel like it was time yet for a full-on celebration. The champagne would have to wait. So instead, I picked an easy bake for the first one in our new home and put together a little something special for our first week in Utah. 

I selected this roasted garlic and herb pull-apart bread for our “party.” Though this recipe was neither “new” nor challenging – I have roasted garlic on occasion before – it seemed the best option to reacquaint myself with my mixing bowl and loaf pan. 😅 I’ll have to get out my mixer sometime soon… Besides, there’s nothing that screams party like a tear-and-share bake, especially in my house (we’re a monkey-bread family 😁). 

The bake turned out wonderfully, but we quickly learned that it’s best on day one. It dries out quickly, so it’s a good thing Tim had made a pot of soup for an accompaniment – for me, the rest of a meal is almost always a side to homemade bread. 😆 

I also cut the recommended amount of roasted garlic in half, using one head instead of two, in hopes of conserving what was left so it’d last until our departure. I should not have done this. The more garlic, the better. 

You can also add shredded parmesan to this bake, but in the interest of saving money (some habits from our time in Europe are still around), I decided to leave this component out. In the future, I’d definitely add it in. 

Overall, a successful bake, and a perfect addition to any party!

This week also had a bonus bake, like many of the Bake Off weeks have seemed to have this year. Funny how when I start to bake I don’t want to stop! 😄

Waffles are the best morning-after-a-party breakfast!

Tim and I dog-sat for my parents over Thanksgiving. So to keep their dog, Oliver, company during the day, we transported all our work materials down the road and set up shop in their kitchen. Not only did we make sure their leftovers didn’t go bad, but I also dug out a can of pumpkin and (badly) attempted to finish off the aging cider for these delicious cider pumpkin waffles. It was the perfect brunch on a chilly fall day. 😋 And Oliver got some of the pumpkin puree as well, so it was a great day for all!