Bake Off is Back!

Yes, I’m two weeks late. Week one was cake week, but here’s the first of my British Bake Off at home bakes. Coffee cake!

disjune (n): breakfast

Okay, okay, I know this probably wouldn’t fly in the tent. Where’s my sponge? But I’m without a mixer at the moment, and beating egg whites with a whisk… Well, it’s near impossible (I was informed recently that it can be done – if you’ve got at least an hour). So, I settled. But I’m not disappointed in the least. 

Cake Week: Coffee Cake

I’m a bit obsessed with Bake Off, have been for about three years. I first took a peek (fine, a long look) into the series in January of my sophomore year of college. My school did a January Term, which was a three week, intensive study course prior to the start of the spring semester. I was in a writing workshop. We met for three hours each morning, then wrote, edited, and peer reviewed from home for the remainder of the day. I came home from class on the second Friday with a high fever and proceeded to spend my weekend rotating between fitful naps, writing through a brain fog, and binging GBBO

It was then a distraction for the spring semester. And the next. And for a [too] short time during my study abroad in Ireland. By then, I was caught up, waiting with anticipation for the 2019 show the following fall. When it aired, I may have *cough* set aside my senior theses… 

Now it’s back! And for a couple hours every week, doing my own bakes in my small apartment kitchen, making do with the little equipment I have, is the closest I’ll ever get to the tent. 

On your marks! Get set! Bake!

This recipe by The Food Charlatan can be found here.